All Horse Racing

San Felipe Stakes

Date: March 07, 15
Purse: $300,000
Grade: II
Type: Thoroughbred
Distance: 8.5 Furlongs
Age: 3 Year Olds
Sex: Both
Turf: Dirt

Oak Tree @ Santa Anita
285 W Huntington Drive
Arcadia, California, 91007


Dual graded stakes hero and Goldencents is by far the most accomplished among those entered in the 300,000 G2 San Felipe S., but he may well be the 2 nd wagering choice behind the highly-regarded Flashback. They will be challenged by six others for a total of 85 Kentucky Derby qualifying points, with 50-20-10-5 going to the respective top four finishers. Goldencents, whose only defeat in four starts came at the hooves of eventual Breeders Cup Juvenile and Eclipse Award winner Shanghai Bobby, could give conditioner Doug O Neill his second consecutive Kentucky Derby score. He retains the services of little-known jockey Kevin Krigger, who could find himself on the national stage much like Mario Gutierrez did last year with I ll Have Another. Flashback, a perfect 2-for-2, looked sensational when winning the G2 Robert Lewis S. here in just his 2 nd start and shows two bullet works for his return. Should Flashback falter, trainer Bob Baffert has another shot at top honors a dual stakes winner of his own, Carving. A notoriously poor worker in the mornings, Carving has won half of his six races but failed to hit the board in three graded stakes attempts. Tiz a Minister made a jaw-dropping last-to-first move to win the restricted California Breeders Champion S. on 1/26 in his 1 st start over a dirt surface (wet-fast). A duplication of that effort will put him in the mix. Omega Star looked to be home free in that Cal stakes but couldn t withstand the late rally from Tiz a Minister and wound up 1 1/4 lengths back at the wire. Hear the Ghost exits a runner up effort in the 6f San Pedro S. at Santa Anita for Hall of Fame trainer and co-owner Jerry Hollendorfer. Kochees showed some serious acceleration when surprising in his debut on the Santa Anita turf in early January but couldn t reproduce that effort when finishing a non-threatening 4 th on the main track next out. Salutos Amigos, the only runner in the field not yet eligible for the Triple Crown, makes his two-turn debut off a flashy maiden breaker over this course. Like Omega Star, he loses pilot Julien Leparoux to Flashback.
The San Felipe Stakes is normally held in mid-March at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California. This Grade II race is an American thoroughbred horseracing event and is run each year at a distance of eight and a half furlongs on the left-handed dirt track of Santa Anita Park racetrack. The stakes currently carries 300,000 and is officially listed as a preparation race for the first leg of the American Triple Crown Kentucky Derby. The race was inaugurated as the San Felipe Handicap in 1935 but due to the World War II there was no race between 1942 and 1945. Since the inauguration of this race, the distance for the race has changed for a couple of times between the years 1938-1940 and 1945-1946 the distance was six furlongs in 1937, 1941 and between 1947 and 1951 that race started running at a distance of seven furlongs. Since 1952, the race has been running at a distance of one and one sixteenth miles. In 1968 and 1970, the San Felipe Stakes was run in two divisions. In 2009, Pioneer of the Nile clinched the title.

San Felipe Stakes Past Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Owner Time
2012 Creative Cause Mike Harrington Joel Rosario Heinz Steinmann 1:41.84
2011 Premier Pegasus Myung Kwon Cho Alonso Quinonez Myung Kwon Cho 1:41.23
2010 Sidneys Candy John W. Sadler Joe Talamo Sid & Jenny Craig Trust 1:42.30
2009 Pioneer of the Nile Bob Baffert Garrett Gomez Zayat Stables 1:43.35
2008 Georgie Boy Kathy Walsh Michael Baze George Schwary 1:42.35
2007 Cobalt Blue Doug O\'Neill Victor Espinoza Merv Griffin Ranch 1:42 2/5
2006 A.P. Warrior John Shirreffs Corey Nakatani Stanley E. Fulton 1:42.40
2005 Consolidator D. Wayne Lukas Rafael Bejarano Robert & Beverly Lewis 1:40.11
2004 Preachinatthebar Bob Baffert Javier Santiago Michael E. Pegram 1:42.87
2003 Buddy Gil Jeff Mullins Gary L. Stevens Desperado Stables et al 1:43.64
2002 Medaglia d\'Oro Robert J. Frankel Laffit Pincay, Jr. Edmund A. Gann 1:41.95
2001 Point Given Bob Baffert Gary L. Stevens The Thoroughbred Corp. 1:41.94
2000 Fusaichi Pegasus Neil D. Drysdale Kent Desormeaux Fusao Sekiguchi 1:42.66
1999 Prime Timber Bob Baffert David R. Flores Aaron & Marie Jones 1:42.16
1998 Artax Randy Bradshaw Chris McCarron Paraneck Stable 1:41.73
1997 Free House J. Paco Gonzalez David R. Flores McCaffeey & Toffan 1:42.49
1996 Odyle J. Paco Gonzalez Corey Nakatani McCaffery/Toffan et al 1:42.43
1995 Afternoon Deelites Richard Mandella Kent Desormeaux Burt Bacharach 1:42.11
1994 Soul of the Matter Richard Mandella Kent Desormeaux Burt Bacharach 1:44.68
1993 Corby John W. Sadler Chris McCarron Allen E. Paulson 1:42.11
1992 Bertrando Bruce Headley Alex Solis Headley/Nahem/505 Farms 1:42.76
1991 Sea Cadet Ron McAnally Chris McCarron VHW Stables (Lessee) 1:41.80
1990 Real Cash D. Wayne Lukas Alex Solis Lukas & Overbrook Farm 1:42.00
1989 Sunday Silence Charlie Whittingham Pat Valenzuela H-G-W Partners 1:42.60
1988 Mi Preferido Laz S. Barrera Chris McCarron Barrera & Saiden 1:42.20
1987 Chart the Stars Richard Mulhall Ed Delahoussaye Arnold, Clearman et al 1:43.00
1986 Variety Road Bruce Headley Chris McCarron Kjell H. Qvale 1:45.40
1985 Image of Greatness D. Wayne Lukas Laffit Pincay, Jr. Kinsman Stable 1:43.20
1984 Fali Time Gary Jones Sandy Hawley Mamakos & Stubrin 1:42.60
1983 Desert Wine Jerry M. Fanning Chris McCarron Cardiff Stud/T90 Ranch 1:41.60
1982 Advance Man Ross Fenstermaker Chris McCarron Fred W. Hooper 1:42.20
1981 Stancharry Melvin F. Stute Fernando Toro Cole, Freeman & Gold 1:42.00
1980 Raise a Man Chay R. Knight Bill Shoemaker Northwest Farms 1:41.60
1979 Pole Position G. E. Goodwin Sandy Hawley Eldorado Stables 1:41.20
1978 Affirmed Laz Barrera Steve Cauthen Harbor View Farm 1:42.60
1977 Smasher Jay M. Robbins Sandy Hawley Robbins & Rogers 1:42.60
1976 Crystal Water Roger Clapp Bill Shoemaker Connie M. Ring 1:42.60
1975 Fleet Velvet Tom Pratt Fernando Toro Leone J. Peters 1:42.40
1974 Aloha Mood Cecil Jolly Don Pierce Joan Winchell 1:42.40
1973 Linda\'s Chief Robert J. Frankel Braulio Baeza Neil Hellman 1:41.80
1972 Solar Salute Lou Glauburg Laffit Pincay, Jr. M/M John J. Elmore 1:41.80
1971 Unconscious Joseph C. Canty Laffit Pincay, Jr. Arthur A. Seeligson, Jr. 1:42.60
1970 Cool Hand Gene Cleveland Jerry Lambert M/M John C. Mabee 1:41.80

San Felipe Stakes Video

Pioneerof The Nile - 2009 San Felipe Stakes
racing news icon

Racing News

American Pharoah puts in strong work for Belmont Stakes

May 28, 2015
ELMONT, N.Y. – Anybody looking for a reason to side against American Pharoah in his ...Read more

Mubtaahij works five furlongs in company in prep for Belmont Stakes

May 26, 2015
ELMONT, N.Y. – For the third time in eight days, Belmont Stakes candidate Mubtaahij ...Read more

War Story to Ohio Derby instead of Belmont Stakes

May 26, 2015
War Story, 16th in the Kentucky Derby, will not run in the Belmont Stakes on June 6 agains...Read more

American Pharoah faces unfamiliar track in Triple Crown bid

May 25, 2015
It bears repeating that American Pharoah will be bidding to make history in more ways than...Read more

Belmont Stakes: Materiality emerges as top threat to Pharoah

May 23, 2015
ELMONT, N.Y. – Todd Pletcher said he will never know if he made the right decision w...Read more

Going over the Triple Crown chase, to the letter

May 23, 2015
Ahmed Zayat, the man behind American Pharoah, likes to say that his homebred colt by a hom...Read more

Mubtaahij putting in work ahead of Belmont Stakes

May 21, 2015
ELMONT, N.Y. – Mubtaahij has been in New York for less than a week, but he’s a...Read more