2015 Kentucky Derby Point System

The road to the Kentucky Derby points system will be updated for the first Saturday in May 2015 at Churchill Downs in Louisville, KY.

While the road to the Kentucky Derby schedule will remain mostly unchanged for 2015, four races were removed from the points system, including the Derby Trial at Churchill Downs and the Sam F. Davis Stakes at Tampa Bay Downs, while two races were added: the Iroquois Stakes for 2-year-olds at Churchill and the Jerome Stakes at Aqueduct for 3-year-olds. Other races dropped were the CashCall Futurity at Betfair Hollywood Park, a $750,000 race for 2-year-olds that will be held for the last time this year because of the closing of the track, and the Royal Lodge Stakes, a race for 2-year-olds held at Newmarket in England. Read more about the changes for 2015 road to the Kentucky Derby points system .

Churchill Downs replaced the old graded stakes earnings system in 2012 for a new points system for the top four horses in 2013 under the Twin Spires . The points system also has a bias towards the races six to eight weeks before the Kentucky Derby . Big purse races such as the Breeders' Cup Juvenile and Delta Downs Jackpot will no longer have much impact on determining the Derby field of 20. Minimizing the significance of such 2-year-old races and now only taking into consideration one turf race of the 36 possible stakes races eliminates the chances for many horses to get in the gate for the run for the roses from the previous 185 different races trainers could pick from in 2012.

The new restrictions on races will ensure that all horses which qualify for the 1 ¼ mile Kentucky Derby have proven that they can compete in conditions similar to that of the Derby to improve the quality of the racing.

It seems that Churchill Downs is stealing a page from the Breeder's Cup Challenge series with their new Road to the Kentucky Derby schedule which is followed by the Kentucky Derby Championship Series and then the Kentucky Derby.

In the new system the top four finishers in the biggest seven races will earn Road to the Kentucky Derby Points on a 100-40-20-10 scale. The races include the six most high-profile Derby preps - the Florida Derby at Gulfstream Park, the Louisiana Derby at Fair Grounds, the Wood Memorial at Aqueduct, the Santa Anita Derby at Santa Anita, the Arkansas Derby at Oaklawn, and the Blue Grass Stakes at Keeneland - along with the UAE Derby in Dubai.

Eight races held in the months prior to those seven stakes races will earn points on a 50-20-10-5 scale. These races have been viewed as preps for the final Derby preps, such as the Risen Star at Fair Grounds, the Fountain of Youth at Gulfstream, the Gotham at Aqueduct, the Tampa Bay Derby at Tampa Bay Downs, the San Felipe at Santa Anita, the Rebel at Oaklawn, the Spiral at Turfway, and the Sunland Derby at Sunland Park.

The two races run in the weeks prior to the Derby will award the four finishers points on a 20-8-4-2 scale. The races are the Derby Trial at Churchill and the Lexington at Keeneland.

The Road to the Kentucky Derby will be 19 races held between September and February will earn the top four finishers points on a 10-4-2-1 scale. Those races include the Breeders' Cup Juvenile, the Delta Jackpot, and the Champagne Stakes. In the past, winners of the Juvenile and Delta have had a significant leg up in qualifying for the Derby, even though the races are run seven to eight months prior to the race.

Bet on the Kentucky Derby and don't miss a single race on the Road to the Kentucky Derby in 2015 at All Horse Racing.

2015 Kentucky Derby Points Standings

Rank Horse Points Trainer Owner Non-restricted Stakes Earnings
1 Carpe Diem 14 Todd Pletcher WinStar Farm LLC and Stonestreet Stables LLC $ 660,000
2 Texas Red 12 Kent Desormeaux Brehm, Erich, Detmar, Wayne, Michaels, Lee, Desormeaux, J. Keith et al. $ 1,136,000
3 El Kabeir 11 John Terranova II Zayat Stables, LLC $ 210,792
4 International Star 11 Mike Marker Ramsey, Kenneth L. and Sarah K. $ 130,979
5 Ocho Ocho Ocho 10 Jim Cassidy DP Racing, LLC $ 660,000
6 American Pharoah 10 Bob Baffert Zayat Stables, LLC $ 360,000
7 Daredevil 10 Todd Pletcher Let's Go Stable $ 300,000
8 Leave the Light On 10 Chad C. Brown Klaravich Stables, Inc. and Lawrence, William H. $ 240,000
9 Lucky Player 10 Steven M. Asmussen Jerry Durant $ 96,481
10 Mr. Z 8 D. Wayne Lukas Zayat Stables, LLC $ 413,326
11 Upstart 6 Rick Violette Jr. Ralph M. Evans $ 300,000
12 Bold Conquest 6 Steven M. Asmussen Ackerley Brothers Farm $ 72,176
13 Conquest Typhoon 4 Mark Casse Conquest Stables, LLC $ 221,827
14 Imperia 4 Kiaran McLaughlin Godolphin Racing LLC $ 163,804
15 Calculator 4 Peter Miller Richard C. Pell $ 120,000
16 Frosted 4 Kiaran McLaughlin Godolphin Racing LLC $ 80,000
17 Far Right 2 Ron Moquett Harry T. Rosenblum $ 115,906
18 The Truth or Else 2 Ken McPeek Harold Lerner LLC $ 76,000
19 Hashtag Bourbon 2 Kellyn Gorder Bourbon Lane Stable $ 74,117
20 Keen Ice 2 Dale Romans Donegal Racing $ 55,000
21 Hollywood Critic 2 Barbara Minshall Bruce Lunsford $ 35,528
22 Eagle 2 Neil Howard W.S. Farish $ 21,902
23 The Great War 1 Aidan O'Brien Tabor, Michael, Smith, Derrick, Magnier, Mrs. John and Allen, Joseph $ 170,702
24 Lord Nelson 1 Bob Baffert Peachtree Stable $ 84,571
25 Danny Boy 1 Dale Romans Donegal Racing $ 55,544
26 Saratoga Heater 1 Al Stall Jr. P.R. Racing $ 50,000
27 Tough Customer 1 Wayne Catalano West, Gary and Mary $ 25,000
28 Classy Class 1 Kiaran McLaughlin Cheyenne Stables LLC $ 20,000
29 Flashaway 1 Mark Casse John C. Oxley $ 6,669