Join Now Login

2016 Kentucky Derby Contenders

When is the Kentucky Derby?
The 142nd Kentucky Derby is on Saturday, May 7th, 2016

Where is the Kentucky Derby?
The Derby is raced at Churchill Downs Racecourse in Louisville, Kentucky

Where can I watch the Kentucky Derby?
Watch the Kentucky Derby Betting live on TV with NBC at 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time

The Kentucky Derby is a stakes race for three-year-old thoroughbred horses, staged yearly in Louisville, Kentucky.

Get ready to celebrate the fastest two minutes in sports. The Road to the Derby schedule has started and we are on the way to determining the contenders for the 142nd running of the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. Derby odds to win are posted here at All Horse Racing so horse racing fans can get a head start on establishing a solid betting strategy before the other horse betting sites. Bet on contenders during the Road to the Roses to get the best opportunity to lock in huge odds well before the competition.

Kentucky Derby Points Standings

As the Road to the Kentucky Derby progresses, we will pay close attention to the Kentucky Derby Points Standings while providing daily updates about all of the best 2 year old horses in North America. Only 20 horses are able to enter the starting gate for the Fastest Two Minutes in Sports but many more will compete for a spot.

Road to the Kentucky Derby Handicapping

Be sure to read up on our expansive selection of Road to the Kentucky Derby handicapping tips and updates including Road to the Roses Race Recaps, Derby Prep Horses to Watch, Contender Profiles, Notable Works, Winning Speed Figures , Injury Reports, News & Notes and more! All Horse Racing offers more Kentucky Derby horse racing information than any site making it a fasters, easier and better place to bet on the 2016 Kentucky Derby.

What is the Also Eligible Rule?

The AE or Also Eligible rule comes in to effect in the event of a scratched horse in the days or weeks before the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs . For example, in 2011 Uncle Mo was scratched by trainer Todd Pletcher for Kentucky Derby 137th; under the new rules the next highest points earner which was Sway Away. This ensures that the Kentucky Derby will always run a full 20 horse field going forward.

Bet on the Kentucky Derby

When you bet on the Kentucky Derby, be sure to pay attention to any horses that are early scratches and know who the possible Also-Eligible horses are according to their Kentucky Derby Points System.

2016 Kentucky Derby Contenders

Rank Contenders Points Trainer Owner
1 Mohaymen 70 Kiaran McLaughlin Shadwell Stable
2 Destin 51 Todd Pletcher Twin Creeks Racing Stables, LLC
3 Gun Runner 51 Steve Asmussen Winchell Thoroughbreds LLC and Three Chimneys Farm
4 Cupid 50 Bob Baffert Michael B. Tabor, Mrs. John Magnier and Derrick Smith
5 Danzing Candy 50 Cliff Sise Jr. Halo Farms, Bashor, Jim and Bashor, Diane
6 Shagaf 50 Chad Brown Shadwell Stable
7 Mor Spirit 44 Bob Baffert Michael Lund Petersen
8 Nyquist 30 Doug O'Neill Reddam Racing LLC
9 Exaggerator 26 J. Keith Desormeaux Big Chief Racing, LLC
10 Whitmore 24 Ron Moquett LaPenta, Robert V., Rosenblum, Harry T. and Southern Springs Stables
11 Sunny Ridge 23 Jason Servis Dennis A. Drazin
12 Mo Tom 22 Tom Amoss G M B Racing
13 Laoban 22 Eric Guillot McCormick Racing LLC and Southern Equine Stable LLC
14 Forevamo 20 Albert M. Stall, Jr. Brittlyn Stable, Inc.
15 Zulu 20 Todd Pletcher Stonestreet Stables LLC, Magnier, Susan., Tabor, Michael B. and Smith, Derrick
16 Outwork 20 Todd Pletcher Repole Stable
17 Flexibility 15 Chad Brown Klaravich Stables, Inc. and Lawrence, William H.
18 Brody's Cause 14 Dale Romans Albaugh Family Stable
19 Greenpointcrusader 14 Dominick Schettino St. Elias Stable, MeB Racing Stables LLC and Brooklyn Boyz Stables
20 Swipe 12 J. Keith Desormeaux Big Chief Racing, LLC
21 Fellowship 12 Stanley Gold Jacks or Better Farm, Inc.
22 Adventist 12 Leah Gyarmati Treadway Racing Stable
23 Collected 11 Bob Baffert Speedway Stable LLC
24 Airoforce 10 Mark Casse John C. Oxley
25 Suddenbreakingnews 10 Donnie Von Hemel Samuel F. Henderson
26 Cocked and Loaded 10 Larry Rivelli Ravin, Richard and Patricia's Hope LLC
27 Discreetness 10 William H. Fires Xpress Thoroughbreds LLC.
28 Frank Conversation 10 Doug O'Neill Reddam Racing LLC
29 Riker 10 Nicholas Gonzalez Tucci Stables
30 Creator 10 Steven M. Asmussen WinStar Farm LLC
31 Star Hill 10 Rusty Arnold II Calumet Farm
32 Uncle Lino 9 Gary Sherlock Mansor, Tom, Purple Shamrock Racing and Sherlock, Gary
33 Vorticity 8 James Lawrence II Matthew Schera
34 Rated R Superstar 6 Ken McPeek Radar Racing LLC
35 Kasseopia 6 H. Graham Motion Team Valor International and Barber, Gary
36 Awesome Speed 5 Alan Goldberg Colts Neck Stables LLC
37 Cherry Wine 5 Dale L. Romans Pacella, William, Jones, Jr., Frank L. and Shoop Frank
38 Candy My Boy 5 Roger A. Brueggemann Frank Mancari
39 Toews On Ice 4 Bob Baffert Watson, Karl, Pegram, Michael E. and Weitman, Paul
40 Tom's Ready 4 Dallas Stewart G M B Racing
41 Let's Meet in Rio 4 Bob Baffert Juddmonte Farms, Inc.
42 Harlan Punch 2 Tom Amoss Rosemont Farm LLC
43 Found Money 2 Doug O'Neill Reddam Racing LLC
44 I'malreadythere 2 Jerry Hollendorfer Melen, Steve, Robertson, Richard A., Taub, Steve and Hollendorfer, Jerry
45 Sail Ahoy 2 Claude McGaughey III Phipps Stable
46 American Dubai 2 Rodney Richards Richard Keith
47 Gift Box 2 Chad Brown W.S. Farish
48 In Equality 2 Leah Gyarmati Treadway Racing Stable
49 Uncle Walter 2 Mike Maker Ramsey, Kenneth L. and Sarah K.
50 I Will Score 2 Jerry Hollendorfer Hans Poetsch
51 Synchrony 2 Donnie Von Hemel Pin Oak Stud, LLC
52 Unbridled Outlaw 2 Dale Romans Albaugh Family Stable
53 Dressed in Hermes 1 Janet Armstrong Budget Stable
54 Bird of Trey 1 John Servis JRitaYoung Thoroughbreds, LLC
55 Van Damme 1 Robert Gorham Mast Thoroughbreds LLC
56 Conquest Big E 1 Mark Casse Conquest Stables, LLC
57 Urlacher 1 Eoin Harty Godolphin Racing LLC
58 Luna de Loco 1 Steven M. Asmussen Calumet Farm
59 Conquest Windycity 1 Mark Casse Conquest Stables, LLC

Online Horse Racing graded stakes

Graded Stakes Races

May 3
SUNLAND: Copper Top Futurity, $110,000, 2 Year Olds, 4 1/2 Furlongs
SUNLAND: Riley Allison S, $100,000, 3 Year Olds, 1 Mile
SUNLAND: El Paso Times S, $65,000, 3 Year Olds, 6 1/2 Furlongs
May 5
SANTA ANITA: Royal Heroine S (Grade 2) ,$200,000; 4 Year Olds And Up ,1 Mile (Turf)
CHURCHILL: Kentucky Juvenile S., $100,000; 2 Year Olds, 5 Furlongs
May 6
CHURCHILL: Longines Kentucky Oaks (Grade 1), $1,000,000; 3 Year Olds, 1 1/8 Miles
CHURCHILL: Alysheba S. (Grade 2), $400,000; 4 Year Olds And Up, 1 1/16 Miles
CHURCHILL: La Troienne S. (Grade 1), $300,000; 4 Year Olds And Up, 1 1/16 Miles
CHURCHILL: Eight Belles S. (Grade 2), $200,000; 3 Year Olds, 7 Furlongs
LONE STAR: Texas Mile S. (Grade 3), $200,000; 3 Year Olds And Up, 1 Mile
CHURCHILL: Edgewood S. (Grade 3), $150,000; 3 Year Olds, 1 1/16 Miles (Turf)
CHURCHILL: Twin Spires Turf Sprint S. (Grade 3), $150,000; 3 Year Olds And Up, 5 Furlongs (Turf)
BELMONT: Gold Fever S., $100,000; 3 Year Olds, 6 Furlongs
SANTA ANITA: American S (Grade 3), $100,000; 3 Year Olds And Up, 1 Mile (Turf)
EVANGELINE: Equine Sales Oaks, $75,000; 3 Year Olds, 1 1/16 Miles